Consequences Of A First-Time DWI

Just like the rest of the nation, drinking and driving is considered an incredibly serious offense in North Carolina.The Jones Law Firm First-time offenders can expect the threat of:

  • A minimum fine of $200 to a maximum of $4,000
  • A minimum jail sentence of 24 hours to more than 24 months in prison
  • License revocation
  • A lowered legal BAC of .04 when your license is returned

A first-time DWI conviction can also impact future alcohol-related charges, causing them to escalate and become more severe. A first-time DWI conviction can also severely impact other aspects of a person's life, including employment and housing.

If you neglect your defensive strategy and don't take every opportunity to protect your rights immediately following an arrest, you risk facing harsh prosecutors who do not have your best interests in mind. At The Jones Law Firm, P.A., our attorney, Steven R. Jones, is committed to getting you the best possible outcome for your case. He stands as your advocate and aggressively fights for you to keep your freedom and driving privileges.

Zero Tolerance—Underage Drinking And Driving

North Carolina is a "zero tolerance" state, meaning anyone caught driving while intoxicated under the legal age of 21 is subject to harsh penalties, including the revocation of their driver's license for 30 days leading up to the trial. Penalties may increase also if you refuse to submit to a breath test or if you are in possession of a fake ID.

Though a judge may grant limited driving privileges to an underage person who is caught drinking and driving, such an action only occurs in specific situations and always at the judge's discretion.

Defend Your Rights—Defend Your Driving Privileges

If you're a young person facing an alcohol-related charge, this may be your first encounter with the criminal justice system. The process ahead may seem altogether intimidating or confusing to say the least. Clear up the confusion by talking to a qualified lawyer at our law firm.

During your free initial consultation, we will use nearly two decades of legal experience to carefully evaluate your case and determine the best defense strategy for you. If necessary, we will promptly request a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles in order to protect your driving privileges if possible.

Our law firm represents anyone who has been charged with a first-time DWI, including college students in eastern North Carolina. Contact our Greenville office by calling 252-848-4421 (toll free 888-309-8202) or by sending an email.